Pricing and Amazon.com

When I tweeted a review of Andreas Glaeser’s book yesterday that I had read on orgtheory.net a friend retweeted the post and added that “it’s only $8.55 on kindle”. Since I new the book was priced at £18.17 on amazon.co.uk I looked up the amazon.com site with my iPhone and noticed that it showed me a price of $29.10.

Image

When arriving home I checked the book on my laptop and found a difference in price when I looked into the amazon.com site from when I was not logged in.

When logged into Amazon.com the price was $29.10.

Image

When I log out of my account and search for the book again, the price goes down to $8.55.

Image

This observation points wither to personalized pricing or to big differences in geographical pricing of books and probably other items. In any case it reminds me of the advice that Eli Pariser gives in his book an on his website The Filter Bubble, clean your cookies.

9 comments
  1. Hey just happened upon your website from Yahoo after I entered in, “Pricing and Amazon.com | Marketing, Interaction & Technology” or something
    similar (can’t quite remember exactly). Anyways, I’m relieved I found it because your subject material is exactly what I’m looking for (writing a university paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I collect some material from here and I will of course credit you as the source.
    Many thanks.

    • Hi, thanks for getting in touch. Glad you like the bits and pieces on the site. Sure, use what you find useful. If you reference it you should be okay re plagiarism. It might be useful to look up some academic sources on this topic though. Maye check the Journal of Marketing Management or Interactive Marketing.

  2. Go Here said:

    Howdy! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really
    enjoy reading through your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects?
    Thank you so much!

    • Hi, thanks for getting in touch. As you see from the site I post occasionally, rather than systematically. I am not sure it is of much use to anyone. It helps me to organise my thinking about some of the bits I am working on or teaching at Uni. Are you on Twitter? That’s where I normally find interesting stuff. Thanks again. Dirk

  3. Novella said:

    Great site you have here but I was curious if you
    knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics
    discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

  4. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for beginner blog writers? I’d
    certainly appreciate it.

    • Thank you. That’s very nice of you to write. As you see I have difficulties to post more regularly, I will keep going though. Keep going too. I find it a really good exercise to improve my writing. Where is your site?

  5. Philip said:

    Hi there I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Aol for something
    else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it
    all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and
    also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal
    more, Please do keep up the great work.

    • Thank you so much, Philip. That’s so kind of you to say.

Leave a Reply

